top of page

From Me to You


From Christmas Eve to New Years Day, I am usually the happiest I've been all year. I am in love with the idea of getting a fresh, clean slate to start your next year. I get to close out the "worst year ever," (yes, I say it every year) with my friends and family. That's something I try to remember when I start getting stressed about gift giving and travel arrangements. I just say, "I'm okay. We're doing good. The year is almost over."

But for a lot of people out there, Christmas and New Years isn't a time for celebrating. Statistically, 45% of people in North America dread it. A common myth is that depression and suicides spike between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Although, this myth is false, it's not too far off. The number of suicides rises significantly after Christmas.

I know a lot of friends and family are struggling with anxiety and mental illness right now and I want to do what I can to help. But if I'm being honest, there isn't much that I can do. The only thing is make suggestions. For me, music is my outlet - it's my escape. I got in contact with a few of my friends, (Molly, Mindy, Cassie, and Alyssa) and put together a list of some songs/lyrics that might help you get through the holidays. Think of this as our virtual hug - right through the internet to you.

You may have given up, but I will lift you up. I will always carry you. ["No More Bad Days" ~ This Wild Life ]

I'll sing you to sleep with songs that let you know that we'll be okay ["Growing Pains" ~ Neck Deep]

I am free now. Free to live without my fears. I believe now there's a reason why I'm here. ["Free Now" ~ Sleeping With Sirens]

Every storm that comes also comes to an end. ["Time Bomb" ~ All Time Low]

Every wound will shape me. Every scar will build my throne. ["Throne" ~ Bring Me The Horizon]

Don't let the world bring you down. You're not alone anymore. ["You're Not Alone" ~ Of Mice & Men]

Don't you dare, don't you ever give up on us, my dear. ["Don't Give Up On Us" ~ The Maine]

This week is gonna swallow me. But when it spits me out, I'm landing on my feet. ["Living Room Song" ~ The Wonder Years]

I reserve the right to feel uncomfortable, reserve my right to be afraid. I make mistakes and I am humbled every step of the way. ["Sometimes You're The Hammer, Sometimes You're the Nail" ~ A Day To Remember ]

We stand up tall, even in the dark. Never forget we are a lighthouse burning. ["Lighthouse" ~ The Word Alive]

I'll always fight for the hopes and dreams of the ones that I love. Never losing sight. ["Something To Dream About" ~ Myka Relocate]

With one chance to define ourselves, we're gonna keep on living. ["Beaten In Lips" ~ Beartooth ]

I chose this life and I've found my own direction. ["Thirty Three" ~ The Ghost Inside]

The future in your heart is just about to start. ["Sing For Me" ~ Yellowcard]

Get through today and know that you are secure. Get a grasp on the fact that this is what you're here for. ["Quake" ~ Balance And Composure]

I'm finally acquiring the state of mind that everything is gonna be alright. ["Elevated" ~ State Champs]

Stay alive. ["Truce" ~ Twenty One Pilots]

Just take a breath. Remember, you're okay. The year is almost over.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page