top of page

To Yellowcard...


For those of you who are unaware, the pop-punk band Yellowcard has announced their split which will be immediately following the release of their last album and world tour. When this first happened, I was heartbroken. My first thought was that it wasn't true. I knew they were working on a new album and thought this meant everything was fine. They were going to continue albums and tour cycles.

I was wrong.

After I was done being heartbroken, I was angry. I was frustrated that this band which has gotten me through so much would just throw it away like that. This is usually my process when any band of which I am a fan breaks up. I think "How could they do this to us?" But that's not fair.

It's not fair of me to think we, the fans, are the only affected people. I didn't think about the family that these guys were leaving behind to play an hour and a half show for me and my friends. I didn't think of the live events they are missing out on because they're stuck in the studio trying to get an album out by the promised date. I didn't think about the members of that band and the things they personally are working through and I was wrong.

I want to take this moment to actually thank Yellowcard. I don't know if any of them will read this, I doubt they will. But just in case they do, I have something I would like to tell you.

When I first met you guys, it was 2 degrees Fahrenheit. I was standing in line outside of a venue in Bethlehem (I believe) to see you perform "Ocean Avenue" acoustic. You guys were going inside, but greeted everyone who caught your eye. You guys chatted with us briefly, cautioning us to stay warm and told us that you would meet us inside. That was it. But to my friend and I, as well as the rest of the people in that line, it meant a lot.

I have seen you guys kill it on stage a number of times. You never fail to get a crowd engaged and make me feel like I was invincible. Songs like "Live of Leaving Home," "Empty Apartment," "Sing For Me," "Way Away," "Hang You Up," "Lift A Sail," "Here I Am Alive," and SO many more (I feel like I should stop solely for lengthy purposes), have gotten me through some of the worst days I've had.

Your music exudes feeling. It takes people away. It gives them comfort, gives them hope, gives them a sanctuary. That is something that can never be forgotten and won't ever be forgotten. You've taken all of us on a journey with you and we can't ever thank you enough.

I hope that you guys enjoy this final ride. I hope when this is over, you go back to your families knowing what an impact you've had on the fans and the industry.

And some day, a few years from now, when people ask you about a reunion tour?

Well, when you're through thinking, say yes. (I'm sorry. I had to do it.)

We love you.

Yellowcard Fans Everywhere

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page