top of page

Launch Music Conference Recap


This weekend has been an exciting one. On Thursday, my friend Molly and I traveled to the lovely town of Lancaster, Pa. for the 8th annual Launch Music Conference. We both signed up to volunteer and worked closely with the Volunteer Coordinator to make sure everything would work. I am not sure there was a more perfect way for me to get the first glimpse into the music industry than this conference.

Launch is a music industry conference by day and a festival by night. The Conference has panels, seminars, and even one-on-one mentoring sessions with some of the most knowledgeable people in the industry.

The first night is all music, all the time. The stage of the Lancaster County Convention Center was shared by smaller bands like Firestarter from New York to the closing of the night with Bayside. My first reaction was just the mutual respect I felt. There were bands of varying popularity all throughout the conference and almost everyone I saw greeted everyone warmly and welcomed them. I didn't see many egos. That's a good thing because in this industry, there isn't much room for them.

The next two days, I was busy trying to soak in as much knowledge as I possibly could. I'm not a musician and although deep down inside I want to be Kelly Clarkson, I know that that is not in the cards for me. However, I would like to eventually work in the alternative music industry. I want to write for "Alternative Press," or be a publicist for a band/record label (Hopeless, hit me up) or even host my own alternative talk show like Mark Hoppus. I have big dreams, I understand. But this conference had people from every different aspect and put them all together to give attendees the best possible advice they could.

Some panelists included: Biggie of Good Fight Management, JB Brubaker of August Burns Red, Spencer Charnas of Ice Nine Kills, Jason McMahon of Substream Magazine, Jen Kellog of The Entertainment Institute, Chrissy Borsellino of The Catalyst Publicity Group, Mike Ziemer of Third String Productions, Vince Edwards of Metal Blade Records, Tim Borror of United Talent Agency, Chad Szeliga of Breaking Benjamin and so many more. From the brief time I spoke with many of them, they are all insanely smart and really want you to succeed. They are on your side and willing to give you advice or else they wouldn't have come. These are the people that future musicians, managers, talent bookers, publicists and journalists all admire. These are the connections you should try your best to make.

Friday and Saturday night I was working different venues getting a catalog of new bands/artists that I had been sleeping on. It wasn't an easy weekend. The shifts were long and like any festival/conference, there were a few issues. But despite that and the early mornings/late nights, I wouldn't take it back for anything in the world. I'll be there again next year, learning and getting advice and networking because that's what you should do.

Put yourself out there. Learn. Explore. Talk to people. I can't thank Launch (and Liz) enough for this experience. Until next time...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page