top of page

Lukas Graham releases "Drunk In The Morning," just in time for summer radio play

Dutch singer/songwriter, Lukas Graham is back with his second single off of his self-titled album release with "Drunk in the Morning." At first listen, the song sounds like Graham's catchy piano melody like on his track, "Mama Said," mixed with the horns and blues-y vocals you would hear in an Andy Grammer or Michael Buble tune. The song, down to the core is about a drunken, late-night booty call.

"Girl I hope you want it, want it / When you hear me talking, talking / You know I've been out and is it OK I stop by? / When I'm drunk in the morning / I'm calling you, you might be lonely, lonely."

In an interview with "Shout Out Music," an online Danish entertainment site, Graham described the song as being, "horny, loving, and honest." You can't argue with him there, not with lyrics like: "Emma I did, and Sophie I kissed, baby / Sarah I had in my hand, but I'm calling you."

The song highlights Graham's ability to write a catchy tune that is going to make radio play

all around the world. With that being said, it doesn't showcase his vocal ability in the way I would have liked to see. That's one of Graham's distinguishable qualities -- his powerful and raw vocal range. You hear it during his first global hit with "7 Years," and in "Mama Said," but as far as vocals are concerned, this is more subdued.

As far as the video for the new single goes, it's a fun, summertime video. Graham, his band and a bunch of his friends are traveling around Santa Monica (I'm from PA... Don't ask me about beaches), dancing and singing to the song. It is exactly what you'd expect. I would however like to say that he did not seem only drunk in the morning but rather drunk the entire day. That's just me, though.

Overall, I would give the new song a 3.5 / 5

If radio play is what they wanted, I'm sure they've gotten it with this tune. It's catchy and fun and perfect for the warm weather coming up soon. (Hopefully.) I just would have liked to have seen a different single.

Agree? Disagree? Watch the video and let me know what you think!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page