top of page

Most Wonderful Time of Year!!


Guys! It is almost time to celebrate my favorite holiday… Christmas. Yes, I am one of those people who completely bypass Thanksgiving (I’m sorry, pilgrims) and start decorating on November 1. The main reason is because Christmas music gets me all kinds of hype. I recruited the help of my friends Molly and Cassie to bring you a list of some of our favorite not-so-traditional Christmas carols. Enjoy!

10. All I Want For Christmas Is You ~ My Chemical Romance (2005)

Mariah, I'm going to let you finish, I just have to say, My Chemical Romance had the best version of this song of all time. *Drop Mic.* *Walk Away.* *Come back.* Christmas is also a great time to reminisce... like about how much you miss My Chemical Romance. But pull yourself together because they seem like they're doing okay right now and hopefully one day they will return.

9. Father Christmas ~ Man Overboard (2013)

This song has Christmas mixed with violence and some rough vocals that add to the over-all feeling of a great pop-punk Christmas song. It's not too pop but we're also not delving into the world of post-apocalyptic. This is the perfect Christmas song to just fist bump and yell. It's fantastic.

8. I Won't Be Home For Christmas ~ Blink 182 (2001)

This song almost feels a little anti-Christmas which is just fine. I said it in the introduction that I love Christmas but even I can get annoyed by those overzealous mall workers dressed up as elves trying to get you to fork out $20 for a picture with a man who resembles more of Colonel Sanders than Santa Claus. Anyway, the song is a throwback to some old Blink which is once again, some great nostalgia for you.

7. I Had A Heart ~ Real Friends (2013)

"Punk Goes Christmas," is one of my favorite "Punk Goes..." albums by far. You put my favorite bands and my favorite holiday together and you're pretty much guaranteed my money. This isn't necessarily a happy Christmas song but it's a song about change that is put with Real Friends' iconic sound. That earned a spot on my Christmas playlist, really.

6. Mile High Christmas ~ Breathe Carolina (2010)

I think this song is absolutely hysterical. You can dance to it and sing it at the top of your lungs. Plus there's a break down in the middle if you're looking to go hard in the paint. The Breathe Carolina guys never fail to put out music that will get you going and this song is no different. Also, they reference Snooki. Just throwing that out there if you weren't already sold.

5. 12 Days of Pop-Punk Christmas ~ Jarrod Alonge (2013)

Another one of those songs that I can't not laugh when hearing it. It's scary how accurate this is if you know someone who lives the "pop punk," lifestyle (Shout-out to Molly), or who is trying really hard to live that life. You've got all the Pop-Punk essentials: Pizza, Parents' disapproval, Vans, Snapbacks, and Patty Walters. BAM. Sold.

4. Merry Christmas, Here's to Many More ~ Relient K (2007)

You can always trust Relient K to bring you all the feels. It's not as up-beat and dance-y as the previously listed songs but it's really deep. This time of year is for appreciating what you have and who is around you and maybe realizing that even if it sucks, this year hasn't been so bad. "Deck the halls with mistletoe. May all your heavy burdens go up the chimney in a cloud of smoke."

3. Nothing For Christmas ~ New Found Glory (2013)

This is a bit more fun than the last song, I'll admit. It's great for gang vocals if you're into that sort of thing. New Found Glory has such a special place in my heart... mainly because of Chad Gilbert... but still. They are fantastic at what they do and they never disappoint. Plus, this song is acoustic. Need I say more?

2. Merry Christmas, Kiss My Ass ~ All Time Low (2011)

You know I had to put my boys on here, I mean, come on. There are two All Time Low Christmas songs that I debated putting on this list. I was torn between "Merry Christmas," and "Fool's Holiday," but as you can see I've made my decision. The holidays are great but that doesn't mean that people aren't still going to suck. This is a break-up song thrown over a music video with a puppet. It got me.

1. Ho Ho Hopefully ~ The Maine (2008)

YES! Okay, I love this song. It is one of the first songs that I learned how to play on my guitar. I am obsessed with it. John O'Callaghan's voice works wonders and in this song, I get goosebumps. It's a love song and it's acoustic. One of my favorite songs from one of my favorite bands. Can't ever forget it.

Honorable Mention!

Before the end of this, I just want to point out an incredible thing that just happened. Last year, Alex Gaskarth of All Time Low joined up with some of his talented friends, Ashton Irwin (5 Seconds of Summer), Joel Madden (Good Charlotte), Pierre Bouvier (Simple Plan) and John Feldmann (Goldfinger) to create a Holiday Super Group for a great cause. They recorded their own version of "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," and teamed up with The Ryan Seacrest Foundation to raise money with all the proceeds. Take a listen on the soundcloud link below and if you're interested in joining, check out the RSF website.

Let me know what you think or if I've missed any!

Twitter: @MackenzieSugrue

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page