top of page

Let’s Just Talk About Jax…


Let me just kick off this post by saying, I am not an avid American Idol watcher. I don’t usually watch TV shows at their regularly scheduled time – The Walking Dead is pretty much the only exception. If it’s a talent competition show, I usually watch the auditions via Youtube, find a few, and tune back in a few weeks later to see how they’re doing. Cassadee Pope’s run on The Voice in 2012 was the firs time I stayed up to date on a show. Then, I found Jax.

She first caught my attention when I saw all the buzz about her American Idol audition online. She sat down in front of J-Lo, Harry Connick Junior, and the incredible Adam Lambert and busted out one of the best cover’s of “I Want To Hold Your Hand,” that I have ever heard.

She didn’t change the song entirely. She stripped it down by playing the piano (which already set her apart from many other Idol contestants), and made the song her own. Her voice was strong and unlike any I’ve heard before. She wasn’t a karaoke singer. She was an artist.

She also seemed really down-to-Earth. She’s an East Coast girl whose voice – even when nervous – made people feel something. I mean, did you see Adam Lambert’s smile? He felt it.

I started following her on Twitter and paid more attention to Idol than I ever had. I watched with pride as this Jersey girl took over the country and was a little bit heartbroken when she only got third place. Did I think she should have won? Yes, but I’m not bitter. Okay, maybe I’m a little bitter. But only a little.

After a bit of a wait, I’m STOKED to say that she has released her debut single post-Idol. “La La Land,” is a total rock-out-in-your-bedroom / scream-into-your-hairbrush anthem that we’ve been waiting for. If you listen to the song, she’s telling you like it is. She’s giving the ‘Behind the scenes’ look at the reality TV industry that we need to hear. Here’s an example:

Everything ain’t always what it seems / in the La La Land that you see on your screen / Everything ain’t always what it seems / in the La La Land of reality.

It ain’t our call, it’s America’s honey / it’s not our decision but your time is our money.

Take all of your clothes off please / We’re gonna need them back for the finale.

Some people are upset with this song – saying it’s an obvious jab at American Idol and unfair for her to write about it in such a negative light. Here’s what I think. She’s a singer. She’s a songwriter and she’s writing about her experiences. Everyone should get that chance.

Jax released a statement to her fans and supporters where she addressed the new song. She said:

"It took a lot of courage to put this song out because I have no idea how everyone will react….It’s really important for me to be honest with all of you. [The song is] the closest I can give you to a backstage pass. So before I move on and turn the page into my next chapter, I need this closure….It’s my job as a songwriter to write from the real and not-so-comfortable places in my heart and I hope I can inspire other people to embrace their Broken Road. …. Thank you for giving me this therapeutic opportunity.”

Watch the video down below and let me know what you think! If you haven’t heard of her before, I hope this makes you a fan. Join “The Jax Pack,” and be ready to put your X’s up!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page